New Board Members Join Cedar Falls Community Foundation

May 15, 2015

New Board Members To Help Lead Community Foundation


Board member elections at the April 30, 2015 annual meeting of the Cedar Falls Community Foundation have resulted in the election of two new members of the Board of Trustees, each for a three year term.  Cynthia Sweet, executive director of the Foundation, said “The Foundation is very happy to announce that Shannon Closson and Eryn Reilly have joined the Board.  They bring new perspectives and experiences that will inform board decisions in the years to come.”


Shannon Closson is President & CEO of Casting Cleaning Inc.  She is a member of Boards of Directors of the Boys & Girls Club and the Panther Scholarship Club, and a graduate of the University of Northern Iowa and Upper Iowa University (MBA).  Eryn Reilly is a Tax Manager at Carney, Alexander, Marold & Co., L.L.P., a lifelong Cedar Falls resident, and also a graduate of the University of Northern Iowa.


Two other changes in the Board of Trustees make-up were approved at the April meeting.  Long time board member and past president Robert Beach has moved to an emeritus position on the Cedar Falls Community Foundation Board and Joan Diamond has retired from the Board.   Foundation President Russ Curtis said, “Both Bob and Joan have made significant contributions of their time, thoughtful leadership, and resources to support quality of life initiatives in the Cedar Falls community. We are grateful for the leadership they have provided both to the Foundation and in the community.”


Continuing on the Cedar Falls Community Foundation Board of Trustees for 2015-16 are the following members of the Cedar Falls community.   These Board members bring a wide range of life and work experiences to their leadership positions as well as diverse perspectives.  All are committed to identifying and serving community needs and challenges.


Russell Curtis, President. Russ is retired from US Bank Private Client Group Wealth Management.  Russ serves on the Boards of the Sartori Healthcare Foundation, EPI Foundation, WCF Symphony and the Cedar Falls Historical Society.


Craig Johnson, Vice President.  Craig  worked for 27 years as a broadcast meteorologist in eastern Iowa and now serves as Executive Director of the Iowa Academy of Science, whose mission is to further scientific research, science education, public understanding of science and recognize excellence in these endeavors.


Robert Dieter, Past President and Secretary.  Bob has retired from four decades of legal practice, including service as General Counsel for the Cedar Falls Utilities.


John Lehman, Treasurer.  John is CEO/CFO of Foster’s, Inc. and actively serves at Nazareth Lutheran Church.


Jan Andersen has retired from Cedar Falls Community Main Street.  She serves the community in many volunteer capacities and on the Western Home Foundation Development Council.


Martin Arthur is employed by the City of Cedar Falls as Cultural Programs Supervisor and Supervisor of the James and Meryl Hearst Center for the Arts.


David Deaver has retired from First National Bank.  He has served on the Library Board, Community Main Street Board, New Aldaya Board, Cedar Falls Community Schools Foundation, Sartori Hospital Foundation, Techworks Board and with other organizations.


Dr. Robert Hardman, Past President. Dr. Hardman is Professor Emeritus at the University of Northern Iowa, past president of the Cedar Falls Rotary Club, Historical Society and the UNI Emeritus Association.  He was appointed and served for three terms on the Iowa Communications and Technology Commission.


Judith Harrington has retired as Professor Emerita after 38 years in UNI’s Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders, and has redirected her energy to community volunteer service, including the Cedar Falls Tourism and Visitors Center, Sartori Hospital, Cedar Falls Historical Society, UNI Emeritus Association, Cedar Basin Jazz Festival, and the Cedar Falls Community Foundation.


Mary Huber has retired from the City of Cedar Falls, having served as Director of the Hearst Center for the Arts.


David Mason, Jr. is an attorney with Redfern, Mason, Larsen & Moore, in Cedar Falls.  He serves as secretary of the WCF Symphony Board.


Sheryl McGovern has been Director Cedar Falls Public Library and the Waterloo Public Library since 2006. Sheryl serves on the Community Main Street Board, the Cedar Falls Community Center Board, the Iowa Department of Education RTC Region 7 Board, and is Secretary of the Cedar Falls Rotary.  She has volunteered for Big Brothers Big Sisters, Partners in Education, STEM, and other organizations.


Shirley Merner is consumer protection Director, Hawkeye Valley Area Agency on Aging.
George Pfalzgraf is a member of the Cedar Valley Arboretum Board, Cedar Falls Art and Culture Board and past president, non-voting member of the Cedar Falls Public Art Committee.  George is a volunteer Shiip counselor, counseling people about Medicare.  He is retired after thirty-three years in the pharmaceutical industry.


Joanne Latta Reeves is a lifelong resident of Cedar Falls and a supporter of projects and organizations throughout the community through volunteerism, board service, and philanthropy.

Jennifer Rodenbeck is Director of Finance & Business Operations for the City of Cedar Falls.


Miller Roskamp, Past President.  Miller is the founder of Roskamp Leasing, a commercial real estate management company.  He has served on the boards of Comprehensive Systems, North Star Systems, Exceptional Persons, US Bank, Roskamp Manufacturing, Iowa Laser Technology, and the Western Home Foundation.


Bruce Verink is employed by the City of Cedar Falls as Recreation and Community Programs Manager.


Cynthia Sweet, Executive Director of the Foundation, has served the Cedar Falls Historical Society, Sturgis Falls Celebration, University of Northern Iowa History Department, and the City of Cedar Falls’ Historic Preservation Commission.  In addition to her work for the Cedar Falls Community Foundation, she serves as Executive Director of the Iowa Museum Association and on the steering committee of the National Alliance of State Museum Associations.


Cedar Falls Mayor Jon Crews and Troy Smith, managing director of the Private Client Group at US Bank, serve as ex officio non-voting members of the Board.


The Cedar Falls Community Foundation accepts a variety of assets to facilitate personal charitable objectives and investment in the causes individuals care about, with both short and long term goals.   For more information about the Community Foundation, visit, e-mail, or telephone 319-243-9170.