Peter Melendy Award Nominations Sought

July 1, 2016


July 1, 2016

Contact for Release:

Cedar Falls Community Foundation

Judith F. Harrington, Chair, PR/Peter Melendy Award Committee

3714 Eastpark Road, Cedar Falls, IA 50613

Home: (319) 277-1106  Cell: (319) 290-8327




Nominations being accepted for Community Builder Award

The Cedar Falls Community Foundation is accepting nominations for the 6th annual Peter Melendy Distinguished community Builder Award. This award recognizes individuals or couples who have made outstanding contributions to the City of Cedar Falls through selfless dedication of time, energy, knowledge, skills, and support.  Organizations are not eligible to be nominated.

The award is named in memory and honor of Peter Melendy, who came to Cedar Falls in 1859 at the age of 36. By living fully and energetically, he contributed much to the cultural life and economic development of Cedar Falls.  Nominees are sought who reflect the example set by Peter Melendy.  Previous award recipients include: Nancy Redfern, Judith Cutler, Sid Morris, Hugh Pettersen, and Liane Nichols.  Previous posthumous awards were made to: John M. Overman, Solomon B. Humbert, Ella Cotton Rownd, Roxie L. Taylor, and Herman Hemenway.   Biographies of previous award recipients are available at

Nominations and supporting materials are due October 1st. Materials may be submitted electronically to or mailed to PO Box 546, Cedar Falls, IA 50613.  Incomplete nominations will not be considered.  Previously submitted complete nominations are considered in subsequent years and need not be resubmitted.

Nominations should include the name and address of the individual making the nomination; a biographical sketch or resume of the nominee(s); specific contributions the nominee(s) has/have made to the community of Cedar Falls in the form of community involvement, commitment to volunteering their time and/or skills, leadership, community assistance, personal example, personal accomplishments beyond the scope of their professional practice, or financial support.  Election to political office in itself does not quality as criteria for receiving the award.  Two letters of support from other community members are required.

For detailed nomination criteria and the nomination process, please visit For more information e-mail or call the Foundation office at 319-243-9170.

Foundation News


Cedar Falls Community Foundation Summer Campaign

This week the Cedar Falls Community Foundation launched its Summer campaign to raise funds for five specific areas of need. The Cedar Falls Community Foundation was founded in 1977 to serve the needs of Cedar Falls and annually provides approximately $250,000 to Cedar Falls public and private non-profit organizations. Support is sought for these areas


Cedar Falls Community Foundation elects new Board Members

The Cedar Falls Community Foundation (CFCF) has served Cedar Falls for over forty years, guided by community members and donors with vision and passion to establish funds that will benefit Cedar Falls for generations to come. The members of the Board of Directors of this nationally accredited community foundation are Cedar Falls residents who understand