Previous Award Recipients

Previous Award Recipients

  • The Sturgis Falls Celebration

    The Sturgis Falls Celebration

    The Sturgis Falls Celebration is a Cedar Falls nonprofit that has organized a community wide festival annually since 1976. The Sturgis Falls Celebration is planned and implemented by an all-volunteer Board of Directors, each with specific responsibilities which they oversee during the year as well as during the Celebration weekend. …Read More »
  • The Streeter Family

    The Streeter Family

    The Streeter Family was recognized for multiple generations of one family who have positively impacted Cedar Falls. Zimri and Lucinda Dean Streeter settled in Cedar Falls in 1852 and they and their descendants positively impacted Cedar Falls through contributions in the areas of politics, arts and culture, professional life, development …Read More »
  • Joan Diamond

    Joan Diamond

    Joan Diamond has been an active volunteer in Cedar Falls for over fifty years, generously sharing her time, talents, and resources to make a difference in the community and its artistic, historical, and philanthropic organizations. Joan Englund was born 3 February 1929 at Galesburg, Illinois, the daughter of William D. …Read More »
  • Theresa (Wangler) Sartori

    Theresa (Wangler) Sartori

    Theresa (Wangler) Sartori was an exemplary wife and mother. This was expected of every woman born in 1833. Her youth in Germany is largely undocumented except for the plain fact of her birth, as a daughter of Konrad Wangler, burgomeister, of Baden. At age 19, she attracted the admiration of …Read More »
  • Herman Casewell Hemenway

    Herman Casewell Hemenway

    Cedar Falls Community Foundation 2015 Peter Melendy Award Nominees for the Peter Melendy Distinguished Community Builder award have made outstanding contributions to the City of Cedar Falls, voluntarily contributing time, energy, knowledge, skills and support beyond the scope of their professional practice, that has enhanced, improved or positively affected the …Read More »
  • Liane Christoffersen Nichols

    Liane Christoffersen Nichols

    Cedar Falls Community Foundation 2015 Peter Melendy Award Liane Christoffersen Nichols is the 2015 recipient of the Peter Melendy Community Builder Award. A lifelong resident of Cedar Falls, Liane exemplifies the community spirit championed by Melendy. Liane was born and raised in Cedar Falls, the only daughter of Iver and …Read More »
  • Roxie L. Hart Taylor

    Roxie L. Hart Taylor

    2014 posthumous Peter Melendy Community Builder award It is often difficult to document the contributions of pioneer women. Their surnames are lost to marriage and they were rarely mentioned in the local newspaper or history books. One of our first pioneer women however, has been remembered because of her importance …Read More »
  • C. Hugh Pettersen

    C. Hugh Pettersen

    Cedar Falls Community Foundation 2014 Peter Melendy Award The 2014 Peter Melendy Distinguished Community Builder Award is presented to C. Hugh Pettersen for his visionary ideas and dedication to the community. Much of what Hugh did was done quietly, behind the scenes, such as offering to pay to have the …Read More »
  • Ella Cotton Rownd

    Ella Cotton Rownd

    Ella Cotton Rownd has provided the community of Cedar Falls with an outstanding example of how one individual can have a long term impact on the quality of community life while also caring for her family. Ella’s careful estate planning insured that her family was provided for and that her estate …Read More »
  • Vilas L. “Sid” Morris

    Vilas L. “Sid” Morris

    The hallmark of this 2013 awardee is “selfless willingness” – his own and that which he inspires in others. The 2013 Peter Melendy Distinguished Community Builder Award is presented to Vilas L. “Sid” Morris for extraordinary dedication to this community by volunteer service and by motivating others to participate in …Read More »

Foundation News


Cedar Falls Community Foundation Summer Campaign

This week the Cedar Falls Community Foundation launched its Summer campaign to raise funds for five specific areas of need. The Cedar Falls Community Foundation was founded in 1977 to serve the needs of Cedar Falls and annually provides approximately $250,000 to Cedar Falls public and private non-profit organizations. Support is sought for these areas


Cedar Falls Community Foundation elects new Board Members

The Cedar Falls Community Foundation (CFCF) has served Cedar Falls for over forty years, guided by community members and donors with vision and passion to establish funds that will benefit Cedar Falls for generations to come. The members of the Board of Directors of this nationally accredited community foundation are Cedar Falls residents who understand